top of page
dermatologist-in-latex-gloves-holding-dermatoscope-2023-11-27-05-31-28-utc.jpg

Cancers de la peau

Liste de lecture de vidéos éducatives concernant les types de NMSC en anglais et en français

Webinaire : Mélanome et cancers de la peau non mélanomes avec le dermatologue Dr Tom Salopek

Les deux types de NMSC les plus couramment diagnostiqués sont le carcinome basocellulaire (CBC) et le carcinome épidermoïde (CCS). Le carcinome à cellules de Merkel (MCC) est une forme rare de NMSC.

Apprenez-en davantage sur chaque type de cancer de la peau ci-dessous.

Carcinome basocellulaire

Basal Cell Carcinoma (BCC)

Le carcinome basocellulaire représente environ 80 % de tous les cas de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome (NMSC) et affecte principalement la population caucasienne et plus âgée. Le BCC prend son origine dans la couche basale de l’épiderme, les études suggérant jusqu’à présent que ses origines proviennent principalement de cellules souches. (Peterson SC, et al. Cell stem cell 16.4 (2015) : 400-412 ; Sehgal VN, et al. Skinmed 12.3 (2014) : 176-81)

Le CBC peut se développer n’importe où, même s’il se trouve le plus souvent dans les zones exposées au soleil. Il est possible d'avoir plus d'un BCC. Il est rare, mais possible, que le CBC se propage ou se métastase – on estime qu’environ 1 % des CBC peuvent être classés comme CBC avancés. (Mohan SV et Chang ALS. Curr Derm Rep 2014 ; 3 : 40–5)

Capture d'écran 2024-03-25 à 16h21h32.png

The top layer of skin, the epidermis, is predominantly composed of basal cells, squamous cells, and melanocytes. Basal cells are small and round and have a critical role in maintaining the skin tissue; they are located at the bottom portion of the epidermis and are often referred to as “basement cells” for their foundational position and function. Basal cells are constantly replicating to produce new skin cells which push to the skin’s surface to renew the skin layer as dying cells shed off. This process is essential for skin maintenance, damage repair and wound healing. When basal cells grow out of control and become cancerous, they develop into BCC. This type of skin cancer generally grows relatively slowly and is usually very treatable when addressed early on. Prompt diagnosis and removal can prevent expansion as well as skin disfigurement. Although it is rare for BCC to spread outside of the skin, it is possible and thus prompt attention is always warranted.

Sources: AIM at Skin Cancer, "Basal Cell Carcinoma." [link: https://aimatskincancer.org/basal-cell-carcinoma/]

AIM at Skin Cancer, "BCC Images." [link: https://aimatskincancer.org/basal-cell-carcinoma/basal-cell-carcinoma-images/]

Mohan SV, Chang AL. Advanced Basal Cell Carcinoma: Epidemiology and Therapeutic Innovations. Curr Dermatol Rep. 2014 Feb 9;3(1):40-45. doi: 10.1007/s13671-014-0069-y. PMID: 24587976; PMCID: PMC3931971.

Peterson SC, Eberl M, Vagnozzi AN, Belkadi A, Veniaminova NA, Verhaegen ME, Bichakjian CK, Ward NL, Dlugosz AA, Wong SY. Basal cell carcinoma preferentially arises from stem cells within hair follicle and mechanosensory niches. Cell Stem Cell. 2015 Apr 2;16(4):400-12. doi: 10.1016/j.stem.2015.02.006. PMID: 25842978; PMCID: PMC4387376.

Capture d'écran 2024-03-26 à 9.33.24AM.png
Capture d'écran 2024-03-26 à 9.35.33AM.png

Immunothérapie

L'immunothérapie est un traitement médicamenteux qui utilise le système immunitaire pour combattre le cancer. Il peut être administré aux patients par voie intraveineuse dans l'unité de chimiothérapie de l'hôpital, mais ce n'est pas la même chose que la chimiothérapie.

Un certain nombre d’immunothérapies anticancéreuses ont été développées en utilisant différentes stratégies pour aider à renforcer la réponse immunitaire. Certaines immunothérapies aident votre système immunitaire à attaquer directement le cancer et d'autres aident à renforcer la réponse immunitaire de votre corps pour combattre le cancer. Par exemple, certains cancers trompent le système immunitaire en désactivant certaines voies, de sorte que les cellules cancéreuses ne sont plus reconnues, leur permettant ainsi de continuer à se développer. Un type d’immunothérapie aide à combattre le cancer en activant les voies que les cellules cancéreuses ont désactivées, de sorte que le système immunitaire commence à reconnaître et à attaquer le cancer. Il ne s’agit là que d’une approche de l’immunothérapie anticancéreuse. Il existe différentes immunothérapies disponibles au Canada pour traiter le mélanome cutané. En général, toutes les options de traitement peuvent entraîner des effets secondaires graves, parfois même mortels. C'est pourquoi il est toujours important de peser soigneusement les avantages de tout traitement contre le cancer par rapport aux risques possibles. Vous devez discuter des effets secondaires possibles avec votre médecin avant de commencer le traitement.

Capture d'écran 2024-03-26 à 9h39h52.png

L'histoire d'Hélène

Le carcinome basocellulaire, en général, est la forme de cancer de la peau la plus courante dans le monde », explique la Dre Vanessa Bernstein, de la BC Cancer Agency. « Un Canadien sur huit en souffrira au cours de sa vie. Mais la majorité des cas de cancer basocellulaire ne seront pas localement avancés ou métastatiques. Ces 99 pour cent des cancers basocellulaires seront traités avec des options locales comme la chirurgie ou la radiothérapie, et ils seront guéris la plupart du temps grâce à cela. Le cas d'Helen est un cas inhabituel car son cancer basocellulaire avancé est une forme assez rare de ce qui est généralement un cancer de la peau courant à croissance lente. C’est revenu après la radiothérapie et cela a continué à se reproduire après le traitement, c’est à ce moment-là que nous avons compris que nous avions des problèmes.

Carcinome épidermoïde (CSC)

Retour au sommet

Squamous Cell Carcinoma (SCC)

Le carcinome épidermoïde (CSC), qui prend naissance dans les cellules kératinocytes, est le deuxième cancer de la peau le plus répandu. Bien que le CSC se développe généralement dans les zones exposées au soleil, il peut également se manifester au niveau des brûlures ou des plaies.

Le CSC est capable de se propager de la surface aux couches plus profondes de la peau, des ganglions lymphatiques ou des organes. L'incidence annuelle des métastases du CSCC est d'environ 4 %. (Burton et al. Am J Clin Dermatol. 2016;17:491-508.)

Il existe deux sous-types de SCC, le SCC adénoïde et le SCC desmoplasique, qui peuvent présenter un risque plus élevé de récidive. Les deux sous-types apparaissent souvent sur la tête ou le cou, et le CSC adénoïde apparaît sous la forme d'un nodule nu, brun, rose ou rouge.

Source : Société canadienne du cancer, « Carcinome épidermoïde » [lien : http://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-type/skin-non-melanoma/non-melanoma-skin-cancer/types- de non-mélanome/?region=on ]

Capture d'écran 2024-03-26 à 10.06.03AM.png

Le voyage de Gary

L'année dernière, Garry Hanwell disait au revoir à sa famille en se préparant à une mort médicalement assistée, dernier recours dans sa lutte acharnée contre le carcinome épidermoïde cutané (cSCC), une forme agressive et courante de cancer de la peau. Aujourd'hui, il plante un nouveau jardin et célèbre 70 ans de mariage.

Merkel Cell Carcinoma (MCC)

Retour au sommet

Le carcinome à cellules de Merkel (MCC) est un cancer de la peau rare autre que le mélanome. Il peut se développer dans les cellules de Merkel, situées dans les zones les plus profondes de l’épiderme et des follicules pileux. Les cellules de Merkel sont liées à la fonction nerveuse et à la production d'hormones. Le MCC se propage généralement rapidement et se développe dans les zones souvent exposées au soleil (tête, cou, bras et jambes), mais peut apparaître n'importe où sur le corps. Une fois que le cancer commence à métastaser ou à se propager à d’autres parties du corps, il devient un MCC métastatique. Le MCC est parfois appelé cancer neuroendocrinien de la peau ou carcinome trabéculaire.

Le MCC se manifeste généralement par une bosse non douloureuse, ferme et surélevée sur la peau, qui peut être de couleur rouge ou violette. À mesure que le MCC se propage, davantage de bosses peuvent apparaître à proximité et un gonflement peut survenir dans les ganglions lymphatiques.

Source : Société canadienne du cancer, « Carcinome à cellules de Merkel »

Regardez notre vidéo informative sur le carcinome à cellules de Merkel :

ÉTATS PRÉCANCÉREUX : KÉRATOSE ACTINIQUE ET MALADIE DE BOWEN

Les affections cutanées précancéreuses peuvent potentiellement évoluer vers un cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome. Les affections cutanées précancéreuses les plus courantes sont la kératose actinique et la maladie de Bowen.

Actinic Keratosis

Retour au sommet

La kératose actinique est également appelée kératose solaire et se retrouve souvent sur les zones de la peau exposées au soleil chez les personnes d'âge moyen ou plus âgées. Une personne atteinte d’une kératose actinique en développera souvent davantage. Le nombre de kératoses actiniques augmente souvent avec l'âge. La présence d'une kératose actinique indique que la peau d'une personne a subi des dommages causés par le soleil.

Les kératoses actiniques sont considérées comme à croissance lente. Ils partent souvent d'eux-mêmes, mais peuvent revenir. Environ 1 % des kératoses actiniques se transforment en carcinome épidermoïde (CSC) si elles ne sont pas traitées. Un traitement est nécessaire car il est difficile de savoir quelles kératoses évolueront en cancer.

Bowen’s Disease

Retour au sommet

La maladie de Bowen est une forme précoce de carcinome épidermoïde (CSC). On peut l’appeler carcinome épidermoïde in situ. La maladie de Bowen touche les cellules cancéreuses de l'épiderme ou de la couche la plus externe de la peau. Bien qu'elle ne puisse pas se propager aux ganglions lymphatiques, la maladie de Bowen peut se propager aux couches plus profondes de la peau si elle n'est pas traitée. Lorsqu’il se propage, il devient un CSC invasif qui peut alors se propager dans le système lymphatique.

Contributing Factors
Young Woman in Sun Hat on Beach

Les éléments suivants peuvent contribuer au développement de cancers de la peau mélanomes et non mélanomes :

  • Exposition non protégée et/ou excessive aux rayons ultraviolets (UV)

  • Un teint clair

  • La tendance aux taches de rousseur

  • Expositions professionnelles au goudron de houille, au brai, à la créosote, aux composés d'arsenic ou au radium

  • Certains médicaments, comme les immunosuppresseurs

  • Antécédents familiaux de cancers de la peau

  • Taupes multiples ou atypiques

  • Coups de soleil sévères, surtout quand on est enfant

doctor-inspecting-skin-rash-on-hand-of-female-pati-2023-11-27-05-01-37-utc.jpg

La détection précoce est essentielle.

​Vous devriez examiner votre peau au moins une fois par mois. Assurez-vous de vérifier l'arrière de votre corps, vos cheveux et entre vos orteils. Utilisez un miroir ou demandez à quelqu'un de vérifier pour vous. Recherchez des changements dans les grains de beauté, toute nouvelle croissance, les plaies qui ne guérissent pas et les zones anormales de la peau.

Si vous avez des inquiétudes concernant votre peau et un éventuel cancer de la peau, contactez immédiatement votre médecin. 

Étapes d'un auto-examen du cancer de la peau

  1. À l’aide d’un miroir placé dans une pièce bien éclairée, examinez le devant de votre corps : visage, cou, épaules, bras, poitrine, abdomen, cuisses et bas des jambes.

  2. Tournez-vous de côté, levez les bras et regardez attentivement les côtés droit et gauche de votre corps, y compris la zone des aisselles.

  3. Avec un miroir à main, vérifiez le haut de votre dos, votre cou et votre cuir chevelu. Ensuite, examinez le bas du dos, les fesses, l’arrière des cuisses et les mollets.

  4. Examinez vos avant-bras, vos paumes, le dos de vos mains, vos ongles et entre chaque doigt.

  5. Enfin, vérifiez vos pieds – le dessus, la plante des pieds, les ongles des pieds, les orteils et les espaces entre les deux.

Lorsque vous contrôlez votre propre peau ou celle de vos proches, gardez à l’esprit « contrôles cutanés to éxaminations de la peau ».

A pour asymétrie. Les deux moitiés du grain de beauté n’ont pas la même forme.

B pour bords. Le contour du grain de beauté est inégal (irrégulier). Il est souvent dentelé, échancré ou flou. La couleur peut s’étendre à la région entourant le grain de beauté.

C pour couleur. La couleur du grain de beauté est inhomogène. Elle peut présenter des teintes de noir, de brun et de brun clair. On voit parfois des régions blanches, grises, rouges, rose ou bleues.

D pour diamètre. La taille du grain de beauté change; en général, il grossit. Les mélanomes peuvent être tout petits, mais la plupart ont une taille supérieure à 6 mm de diamètre (environ ¼ po de largeur).

E pour évolution. L’aspect du grain de beauté a changé au cours des dernières semaines ou mois.

F pour fermeté. Le grain de beauté est-il plus dur que la peau avoisinante?

G pour grandeur. Le grain de beauté grossit-il graduellement?

REMARQUE : les informations contenues sur le site Web Sauve ta peaune sont pas destinées à remplacer l'avis médical d'un médecin ou d'un professionnel de la santé. Bien que nous fassions tout notre possible pour garantir que les informations sur notre site soient aussi actuelles que possible, veuillez noter que les informations et les statistiques sont susceptibles de changer à mesure que de nouvelles recherches et études sont publiées.

100% des dons vont aux patients

Il est crucial de rendre la sensibilisation et l’éducation accessibles. Depuis 2006, la Fondation œuvre à la sensibilisation aux cancers de la peau mélanomes et non mélanomes en mettant l'accent sur l'éducation, la prévention et la nécessité d'améliorer les soins aux patients.

bottom of page

top of page
dermatologist-in-latex-gloves-holding-dermatoscope-2023-11-27-05-31-28-utc.jpg

Skin Cancers

Educational Video Playlist Regarding the Types of NMSC in English and French

Webinar: Melanoma and non-Melanoma Skin Cancers with Dermatologist Dr. Tom Salopek

The two most commonly diagnosed types of NMSC are Basal Cell Carcinoma (BCC) and Squamous Cell Carcinoma (SCC). Merkel Cell Carcinoma (MCC) is a rare form of NMSC.

Learn more about each skin cancer type below .

Basal Cell Carcinoma (BCC)

Basal Cell Carcinoma represents approximately 80% of all cases of non-melanoma skin cancer (NMSC), and predominantly affects the Caucasian and older population. BCC originates in the basal layer of the epidermis, with studies so far suggesting origins primarily being from stem cells (Peterson SC, et al. Cell stem cell 16.4 (2015): 400-412). Basal cell carcinoma (BCC) is the most common form of skin cancer in Canada and generally arises from cumulative lifetime ultraviolet (UV) exposure and damage to the skin, and as such is often found on areas of the skin most exposed to sunlight.

BCC can develop anywhere, though it is most commonly found in sun-exposed areas. It is possible to have more than one BCC. It is rare, but possible, for BCC to spread, or metastasize – it is estimated that ~1% of BCCs can be classified as advanced BCC (Mohan SV & Chang ALS. Curr Derm Rep 2014;3:40–5).

 

 

 



Appearance

Many BCCs are small, elevated bumps or skin sores, red, pink, or pearly white in color. Some may crust, itch, or bleed and are often mistaken for “pimples” that have been present for several weeks and aren’t healing.

BCCs may appear as:

  • An open sore that bleeds, oozes, or crusts and remains open for several weeks

  • A red, raised patch or irritated area that may crust or itch but generally doesn’t hurt

  • A shiny pink, red, pearly white, or translucent bump

  • A pink growth with a raised border and crusted central indentation.

  • A scar-like, white, yellow, or waxy area, often with a poorly defined edge

  • A darker-colored (pigmented), pearly, translucent skin growth (more common in skin of color than in light skin)

  • An ulcerated lesion, which means a portion of the skin that covers the growth is not healing

Screenshot 2024-03-25 at 4.21.32 PM.png

The top layer of skin, the epidermis, is predominantly composed of basal cells, squamous cells, and melanocytes. Basal cells are small and round and have a critical role in maintaining the skin tissue; they are located at the bottom portion of the epidermis and are often referred to as “basement cells” for their foundational position and function. Basal cells are constantly replicating to produce new skin cells which push to the skin’s surface to renew the skin layer as dying cells shed off. This process is essential for skin maintenance, damage repair and wound healing. When basal cells grow out of control and become cancerous, they develop into BCC. This type of skin cancer generally grows relatively slowly and is usually very treatable when addressed early on. Prompt diagnosis and removal can prevent expansion as well as skin disfigurement. Although it is rare for BCC to spread outside of the skin, it is possible and thus prompt attention is always warranted.

Sources: AIM at Skin Cancer, "Basal Cell Carcinoma." [link: https://aimatskincancer.org/basal-cell-carcinoma/]

AIM at Skin Cancer, "BCC Images." [link: https://aimatskincancer.org/basal-cell-carcinoma/basal-cell-carcinoma-images/]

Mohan SV, Chang AL. Advanced Basal Cell Carcinoma: Epidemiology and Therapeutic Innovations. Curr Dermatol Rep. 2014 Feb 9;3(1):40-45. doi: 10.1007/s13671-014-0069-y. PMID: 24587976; PMCID: PMC3931971.

Peterson SC, Eberl M, Vagnozzi AN, Belkadi A, Veniaminova NA, Verhaegen ME, Bichakjian CK, Ward NL, Dlugosz AA, Wong SY. Basal cell carcinoma preferentially arises from stem cells within hair follicle and mechanosensory niches. Cell Stem Cell. 2015 Apr 2;16(4):400-12. doi: 10.1016/j.stem.2015.02.006. PMID: 25842978; PMCID: PMC4387376.

Screenshot 2024-03-26 at 9.33.24 AM.png
Screenshot 2024-03-26 at 9.35.33 AM.png

Immunotherapy

Immunotherapy is a drug treatment that uses the immune system to fight cancer. It may be administered to patients intravenously in the Chemotherapy Unit of the hospital, but it is not the same as chemotherapy.

A number of cancer immunotherapies have been developed using different strategies to help boost immune response. Some immunotherapies help your immune system attack the cancer directly and some help to enhance your body’s immune response to fight the cancer. For example, some cancers trick the immune system by switching off certain pathways so that cancer cells are no longer recognized, allowing them to continue to grow. One type of immunotherapy helps fight cancer by switching on the pathways that the cancer cells have switched off, so that the immune system begins to recognize and attack the cancer. This is only one approach to cancer immunotherapy.

There are different immunotherapies available in Canada to treat skin melanoma. In general, all treatment options can cause serious side effects, sometimes even fatal. That’s why it is always important to carefully weigh the benefits of any cancer treatment against the possible risks. You should discuss possible side effects with your doctor before starting treatment.

Screenshot 2024-03-26 at 9.39.52 AM.png

Helen's Story

Basal cell carcinoma, in general, is the most common form of skin cancer in the world,” says Dr. Vanessa Bernstein, BC Cancer Agency. “One in eight Canadians will develop it during their lifetime. But the majority of the cases of basal cell cancer won’t be locally advanced or metastatic. These 99 per cent of basal cell cancers will be treated with local options like surgery or radiation, and they’ll be cured most of the time by that. Helen’s is an unusual case because her advanced basal cell cancer is quite a rare form of what’s usually a slow-growing, common skin cancer. It came back after radiation and it kept recurring after treatment, which is when we knew we were in trouble.”

Back to Top

Squamous Cell Carcinoma (SCC)

Squamous cell carcinoma (SCC), which begins in the keratinocyte cells, is the second most common skin cancer. This type of skin cancer generally grows slowly and occurs most often burn or wound sites, or on sun-exposed skin, such as the back of the hands, ears, and scalp. It often looks like a sore that is not healing or an enlarging red, scaly patch of skin. Many SCSCs appear as wounds that never heal. They usually grow relatively slowly and may look red, scaly, crater-like, ulcerated, or bumpy. Some are crusty or itchy and may bleed.

The top layer of skin, the epidermis, is predominantly composed of basal cells, squamous cells, and melanocytes. Squamous cells are thin, flat skin cells found in the upper section of the epidermis and appear at the skin’s surface. As part of normal skin maintenance, squamous cells are constantly shed as new cells replace older ones.

SCC is capable of spreading from the surface to deeper layers of skin, lymph nodes or organs. The annual incidence of metastasis of CSCC is approximately 4%. (Burton et al. Am J Clin Dermatol. 2016;17:491-508.)

There are two subtypes of SCC, Adenoid SCC and Desmoplastic SCC, which may have a higher chance of recurrence. Both subtypes often occur on the head or neck, and Adenoid SCC appears as a nude, brown, pink or red nodule.

You might be familiar with the term cutaneous squamous cell carcinoma; this is another way of describing squamous cell skin cancer.

Sources: Canadian Cancer Society, “Squamous Cell Carcinoma.“ [link: http://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-type/skin-non-melanoma/non-melanoma-skin-cancer/types-of-non-melanoma/?region=on]

AIM at Skin Cancer. "Squamous Cell Skin Cancer." [link: https://aimatskincancer.org/squamous-cell-skin-cancer/]

Screenshot 2024-03-26 at 10.06.03 AM.png

Gary's Journey

Last year, Garry Hanwell was saying goodbye to his family in preparation for a medically-assisted death, the last resort in his relentless battle with cutaneous squamous cell carcinoma (cSCC), an aggressive and common form of skin cancer. Today, he’s planting a new garden and celebrating 70 years of marriage.

Merkel Cell Carcinoma (MCC)

Back to Top

Merkel Cell Carcinoma (MCC) is a rare non-melanoma skin cancer. It can develop in the merkel cells, which are found in the deepest areas of the epidermis and hair follicles. Merkel cells are related to nerve function and production of hormones. MCC generally spreads quickly, and develops in areas often exposed to the sun (head, neck, arms, and legs), but can occur anywhere on the body. Once the cancer starts to metastasize, or spread, to other parts of the body, it becomes metastatic MCC. MCC is sometimes referred to as neuroendocrine skin cancer or trabecular carcinoma.

MCC generally manifests in a non-painful, firm, raised bump on the skin, which may be red or purple in colour. As MCC spreads more bumps may appear nearby, and swelling may occur in the lymph nodes.

Source: Canadian Cancer Society, “Merkel Cell Carcinoma

Watch our informative video about merkel cell carcinoma:

PRECANCEROUS CONDITIONS: ACTINIC KERATOSIS AND BOWEN’S DISEASE

Precancerous conditions of the skin have the potential to develop into non-melanoma skin cancer. The most common precancerous conditions of the skin are Actinic Keratosis and  Bowen’s disease.

Actinic Keratosis

Back to Top

Actinic keratosis is also called solar keratosis, and is often found on sun-exposed areas of the skin in people middle-aged or older. A person with one actinic keratosis will often develop more. The number of actinic keratoses often increases with age. The presence of an actinic keratosis indicates that a person’s skin has suffered sun damage.

Actinic keratoses are considered slow growing. They often go away on their own, but may return. Approximately 1% of actinic keratoses develop into squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) if left untreated. Treatment is required because it is difficult to tell which keratoses will develop into cancer.

Bowen’s Disease

Back to Top

Bowen’s disease is an early form of squamous cell carcinoma (SCC). It may be called squamous cell carcinoma in situ. Bowen’s disease involves cancer cells in the epidermis or outermost layer of the skin. Although it can’t spread to the lymph nodes, Bowen’s disease can spread into the deeper layers of the skin if left untreated. When it spreads, it becomes an invasive SCC that then has the potential to spread into the lymph system.

Contributing Factors
Young Woman in Sun Hat on Beach

The following may contribute to the development of melanoma and non-melanoma skin cancers:

  • Unprotected and/or excessive exposure to ultraviolet (UV) radiation

  • A fair complexion

  • The tendency to freckle

  • Occupational exposures to coal tar, pitch, creosote, arsenic compounds, or radium

  • Some medications, such as immunosuppressants

  • Family history of skin cancers

  • Multiple or atypical moles

  • Severe sunburns, especially as a child

doctor-inspecting-skin-rash-on-hand-of-female-pati-2023-11-27-05-01-37-utc.jpg

Early detection is key.

​You should examine your skin at least once a month. Make sure you check the back of your body, in your hair, and between your toes. Use a mirror or have someone check for you. Look for changes in moles, any new growths, sores that do not heal, and abnormal areas of skin.

If you have any concerns about your skin and possible skin cancer, contact your physician immediately. More information about the diagnosis process can be found here.

 Steps of a Skin Cancer Self-Exam

  1. Using a mirror in a well lit room, check the front of your body -face, neck, shoulders, arms, chest, abdomen, thighs and lower legs.

  2. Turn sideways, raise your arms and look carefully at the right and left sides of your body, including the underarm area.

  3. With a hand-held mirror, check your upper back, neck and scalp. Next, examine your lower back, buttocks, backs of thighs and calves.

  4. Examine your forearms, palms, back of the hands, fingernails and in between each finger.

  5. Finally, check your feet – the tops, soles, toenails, toes and spaces in between.

When checking your own skin or that of your loved ones, keep in mind the “ABCDE’s of skin checks.”

A – Asymmetry. The shape of one half does not match the other half.

B – Border that is irregular. The edges are often ragged, notched, or blurred in outline. The pigment may spread into the surrounding skin.

C – Colour that is uneven. Shades of black, brown, and tan may be present. Areas of white, grey, red, pink, or blue may also be seen.

D – Diameter. There is a change in size, usually an increase. Melanomas can be tiny, but most are larger than 6 mm wide (about 1/4″ wide).

E – Evolving. The mole has changed over the past few weeks or months.

F – Firm. Is the mole harder than the surrounding skin?

G – Growing. Is the mole gradually getting larger? 

Contact your doctor right away if you notice any abnormalities. Your doctor may also recommend that you examine your lymph nodes every month.For full instructions on conducting skin self-exams, please CLICK HERE.

NOTE: The information on the Save Your Skin website is not intended to replace the medical advice of a doctor or healthcare provider. While we make every effort to ensure that the information on our site is as current as possible, please note that information and statistics are subject to change as new research and studies are published. 

100% of Donations go to Patients

Making awareness and education available is crucial. Since 2006, the Foundation has worked to raise awareness of melanoma and non-melanoma skin cancers focusing on education, prevention and the need for improved patient care.

bottom of page